Unraveling Money – My Exploration of Personal Finance and Productivity

July 1, 2009

Follow up is everything

Filed under: Debt — unravelingmoney @ 1:58 pm

One thing I’ve learned is that following up with all of the various financial institutions I do business with is key to success – so many times, you’ll think a change has been made, only to find out later that no change was made at all.

I just checked and finally, after about 1 week, my secondary credit card issuer processed my 1.99% balance transfer and applied my reduced purchase APR of 7.99%

I still need to follow up with my primary card issuer at my bank to find out if my “appeal” for a lower APR came through – and also need to finish the transfer process for my IRA account from an old employer 401k.

So many follow-ups! I’ve started keeping reminders in my Outlook for work – I’m not sure if that’s the best rate. Regardless, I’m sure that many financial institutions make money when people like me forget to follow up – so it’s my job to beat the system.

Leave a Comment »

No comments yet.

RSS feed for comments on this post. TrackBack URI

Leave a Reply

Blog at WordPress.com.

